top of page

Adapting Philippine Lesson Plans For Use in Indonesia

The Philippine Department of Education cites the Virginia Department of Education in defining instructional planning as the process of determining what learning opportunities students in school will have by planning the content of instruction, selecting teaching materials, designing the learning activities and grouping methods, and deciding on the pacing and allocation of instructional time.

Lesson Planning is integral to the teaching process, as it acts as a blueprint for the teacher to follow during her lesson. Many different countries and institutions use their own formats for the making of lesson plans, with some more detailed than others.

My institution, Saint Louis University, makes use of "Detailed Lesson Plans".

Adapting this format for use in another country was indeed tricky because of a few reasons.

First, there was no Indonesian curriculum guide that I could excise content and performance standards from. Because of this, I decided to instead use the curriculum guide provided by my home country. I tried to explain to my student buddies that I wanted to search for a national curriculum guide used in Indonesia, but what they would do was copy the national competencies or standards from another lesson plan. This was somewhat frustrating for me, especially since I had usually based my procedures and activities on the learning competencies provided by the Department of Education.

Another obstacle that I had to face was adapting the steps of the learning procedure. Unlike in the Philippines, where the students would ease themselves into the lesson before learning about the core concepts through a lecture or discussion followed by an activity, the students in Indonesia seemed to do activities more than lectures. I still pushed through with the lecture and tried my best to get their attention, but the language barrier got in the way at times.

In spite of these problems however, I still managed to get through to a few of my students and taught as best as I could.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page